

Call for Papers

for the

Doctoral Workshop on September 21st, 2010 Preceding the 4th International CSR Conference at the Humboldt-University of Berlin

Inaugurated in 2004 as a platform for multi-stakeholder dialogue, the Humboldt-University CSR conference series has established itself as the world's premier international forum for exploring the global themes of corporate social responsibility (CSR) and sustainability in all their various dimensions.

This year's doctoral workshop will particularly address interdisciplinary research in the fields of sustainability and CSR in a globalized context. We are inviting PhD candidates from social sciences, law, business sciences and economics as well as from natural sciences and engineering to engage in a dialogue on solutions for global challenges of sustainability and CSR.

Proposals may address the scientific topics listed below but do not necessarily have to be limited to these. Rather they should investigate subjects representing cutting edge fields of research. Particularly appreciated will be projects which incorporate cooperation with non-academic actors or institutions from the business or the NGO sector as well as the political sphere. Related research areas include:

- Sustainable supply chain management,
- Sustainable energies, climate change and carbon footprint strategies,
- New forms of multi-stakeholder governance and the legitimacy and effectiveness of global CSR standards,
- Sustainable production technologies in developing countries and countries of transition,
- Social entrepreneurship and social business,
- Sustainable urban planning and the responsible metropolis,
- Responsible leadership.

The workshop offers PhD candidates a unique possibility to present and discuss their research projects in an inspiring academic community of both fellow PhD students and experienced researchers. The friendly and supportive atmosphere will allow students to improve their academic skills and abilities as well as to connect with international PhD colleagues and faculty members.

As a special honour the best paper presentation will be granted an award of 500 Euros at the conference gala dinner.

An additional highlight of the workshop will be a session on publishing strategies, held by Timothy Devinney, former chair of the International Management Division of the Academy of Management, associate editor of Academy of Management Perspectives, and co-editor of the Advances in International Management series.



Admission:

Participants of the doctoral workshop will be selected by a scientific committee based on submitted abstracts of maximum 500 words. Proposals should indicate the stage of the PhD process, the research question, central propositions, and the methodological design.

Applications should further include a current CV, the name(s) of their supervisor(s), and a confirmation that they are currently registered as PhD students.

Participants chosen to present their research should be prepared to submit a full proposal of 3000 words. Presentations will be limited to 20 minutes with additional 30 minutes for discussion.

- Abstract submissions should be sent in PDF format to Sarah Jastram (Sarah.jastram@hu-berlin.de) until July 15th, 2010.
- Notifications of admission will be sent by email on August 2nd, 2010.
- Full papers should be sent to Sarah Jastram until September 6th, 2010.

We offer a limited number of non-presenting students to attend the workshop as guests and discussants. Applications should also be sent to Sarah Jastram.

Cost and Fees:

Participants of the doctoral workshop will have to register at the normal conference fee for students which is $40 \in$. It allows participants to attend the workshop as well as all conference sessions. Accommodation and travel will be at the participants' own expenses.

Contact:

For any further information regarding the doctoral workshop please contact:

Sarah Jastram Institute of Management Humboldt-University of Berlin Sarah.jastram@hu-berlin.de

Scientific Committee:

- C.B. Bhattacharya (ESMT, Berlin) (confirmed)
- Timothy Devinney (University of Technology, Sydney/Humboldt-University of Berlin) (confirmed)
- Geoffrey Heal (Columbia University Business School) (confirmed)
- Wanjun Jiang (Peking University) (confirmed)
- Johanna Mair (IESE Business School, Barcelona) (confirmed)
- Robert A. Phillips (University of Richmond) (confirmed)
- Joachim Schwalbach (Humboldt-University of Berlin), chairman
- Kanji Tanimoto (Hitotsubashi University, Tokyo) (confirmed)
- Michael Yaziji (IMD, Lausanne) (inquired)